Coffee Talk: A Return to Blogging

At the close of last year I coffeetalkdecided to quit blogging. My blog of almost ten years had become an absolute chore. I had moved from being mostly a book blogger to a life blogger. For a while this worked. Until it didn’t and I don’t really need to go into those details. Cool! I’ll just go back to book blogging… oh blast… I cannot … I’m not reading a damn thing.

I knew that 2017 would be full of some family challenges and I was starting graduate school for my Masters in Library and Information Science. Oh well, no time for blogging. I shut it down my blog.

My reading at the beginning of the year was s l o w… I didn’t finish a book until the end of February and right now I’m only on my fourth book. But I began to notice something… I was super craving bookish everything. Bookstores, libraries, bookish print dresses, Instagram feeds with lovely stacks of books accompanied by mugs of coffee, and podcasts. While I wasn’t reading, I was listening. Primarily to The Readers. Simon and Thomas have a way of making me crave some solid reading time and I always end up adding books to my TBR on their recommendations. I listened to all of 2016 – I was behind on episodes – while at work. Then it hit me. I missed having bookish friends and gushing over books. I mean, I have tons of bookish friends, but we don’t really share out bookishness on the daily. I missed my community.

My first thought was to start a vlog. I get tired of typing after computer work for most of the day and then doing homework at night. Several friends warned me that vlog editing can be time-consuming and while I’d like to think that I could keep it low-key and not care about lighting and editing … ummmm… let’s just say I think I would end up a frustrated perfectionist who never posts. Oh yeah, and then there’s the fact that Thomas of Hogglestock hates vlogs and he is one of my favorite book bloggers (and an all round swell guy).

Okay, so how about I just really jazz up my Instagram! Or do Litsy! Really pump up books on social media. Cool! Except, I cannot really do long form reviews and lists easily or I’ll have to use several platforms to accomplish those goals. OH YEAH… and Thomas HATES Instagram. Ugh. What other cool book bloggers will I not meet if I’m just chillin with the millennials on Instagram (for the record, I love millennials)?

So Thomas, thank you, you gave me that push to go back to blogging.

Returning to blogging and focusing on books has been on my brain for ages (as in, as soon as I quit I missed blogging). I’m not sure how often I will post here. I have great intentions, but I also have a literature review due in April. We’ll see how my non-graduate studies reading goes.

In this space I plan on

  • writing book reviews when the fancy strikes
  • chatting over cups of coffee on bookish subjects
  • sharing the too many books I’ve bought the past few months
  • sharing the books my kids are reading
  • showcasing some of my graduate studies and work moments because I’d like people to know that librarians do NOT get to read all day
  • lists… lots of bookish lists
  • poetry and poets because they give me life
  • shelfies
  • shoutouts to my favorite bookish folks
  • TBRs and monthly wrap-ups
  • the occasional unboxing
  • wishlist books
  • general reading updates

Whelp. There we are. I’m glad to be back. Now to work on the reading mojo…

 

10 thoughts on “Coffee Talk: A Return to Blogging

  1. Amanda says:

    I’m so very happy to see you! I never care how often you post or on what subject or at what URL. Just glad you’re here. 🙂 *hugs* and good luck with the grad school stuff! I’ve yet to get through undergrad, heh, so my hats off to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Melissa says:

    It’s so hard to find the right balance. I’ve just started blogging again. I’ve given myself the freedom to just post when I feel like it, no schedule, and that’s been good. I’m glad you’re back!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. StephTheBookworm says:

    All I can say is YAY! I missed you.

    And oh my gosh, I also just did a post last month on what I do as a librarian because people just don’t understand. Everyone is so jealous of my job but they think it’s because I read for a living and LOL NOPE!

    Like

Leave a Reply

