March Book Haul

I should be writing a discussion post for grad school, but my brain is fried. So here I am… not doing homework… and talking about my vice. No, not coffee, THE OTHER VICE. Book buying.

I’ve always felt really guilty about buying books. For goodness sake I work in a library SURROUNDED by books and I can ILL nearly anything and then there’s the whole spending money thing that makes me feel so ding-dang guilty.

That all changed this year. There were some practical changes that meant I was paying less for daycare and I have a little bit of spending money now and then there was the election fallout. With the government poo-pooing on artists, writers, libraries, and a million other things, I decided to use my money to support books, authors, and bookstores. I’m not going to feel guilty for spending $20 here and there for books. I mean, there are worst vices.

I do tend to cull with some regularity and some of my books this month were purchased with store credit. Yay! Now enough with the justifications and on to the books.

In early March Sam and I had an afternoon date and he knows the best way to woo is to take me book shopping.

17077422_1866232506998077_1866708214087680000_n(1)

The Complete Stories by Flannery O’Connor was a gift from Sam that he bought me at Books-a-Million. I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith was a Goodwill find and in pristine condition. Sarum by Edward Rutherfurd, Summer and Bird by Cat Mull, Night Film by Marisha Pessl, and Ghostly by Audrey Niffenegger were all very inexpensive purchases at a bargain store called Ollie’s.

17333706_1902264550049477_9207930126187102208_n

There is a rad bookstore called Avid about 45 minutes away from my home town. I don’t get a chance to shop there as often as I like, so I decided to do a 6 month subscription to their curated subscription service. Talk about winning! I’ve had my eye on this Dutton book since I saw the gorgeous cover on the interwebs several months ago. Avid sent me this book based on my personal tastes – I had to send a little about me write-up – and because this is a small press book and March is small press month. I wonder if I’ll get poetry next month for poetry month!!!

I had an especially tough day due to some family issues that have broken my heart. Sam and I were in Atlanta and I was sad, so he took me to A Cappella Books. Apparently some poor soul had broken up with Virginia Woolf and ditched her at the used book store, so I bought a bunch of rad vintage Virginia Woolf novels along with the first three volumes of her diary. I bought Memoirs of a Dutiful Daughter by Simone de Beauvoir because I adore that book and cannot find my copy, A Month in the Country was my NYRB classics score of the day, and I nabbed a used copy of Anne Sexton’s The Death Notebooks. Not pictured, Sam got book of Robert Rauschenberg art and a book on graffiti font (yes, seriously he did).

17333748_1832160740368454_4570650767010037760_n

 

 

Next up, a bookish shopping trip with mom. I used my store credit, a $5 off coupon, and my 20% educator’s discount at 2nd and Charles to rack up The Library at Mount Char by Scott Hawkins, Arthur and George by Julian Barnes, The Belly of the Beast by Emile Zola, The Razor’s Edge by Somerset Maugham, and – a blind date with a book pick – Son of a Witch by Gregory Maguire.

At Barnes and Noble I used some coupons and my discount card to purchase Vanessa and her Sister by Priya Parmar, The Vegetarian by Han Kang, the Penguin Deluxe version of The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov, and Heresy by S.J. Parris.

17437760_240665123072718_6316298747970060288_n

My last haul is from Avid Reader’s Musings. She sent me some goodies (including that rad mug and a Sylvia Plath finger puppet magnet!). A vintage copy of an Edith Wharton story, a Persephone Modern Classic copy of The Montana Stories by Katherine Mansfield, Can you Forgive Her? by Anthony Trollope, and David Mitchell’s The Bone Clocks.

Whelp… that was March. I could tell you that I will not be buying books for ages, but, honestly, that would be an absolute lie. April is my birthday month! 😉

3 thoughts on “March Book Haul

  1. Amanda says:

    One of the worst things about the new place I’m living is NO REAL BOOKSTORES. There’s a Walden-books like place that is essentially the equivalent of an airport bookstore, and I did recently find a place that sold used books, mostly older works, that will at least satisfy me a tiny bit. But when I was back in San Antonio for two weeks, I hit Barnes & Nobles and Half Price Books multiple times in multiple locations, and it was like walking around in heaven. I’ve missed books so much. (Ditto for libraries. I actually took time out of my vacation to go visit multiple library branches in SA.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. StephTheBookworm says:

    Love this haul! So much variety. I also feel guilty about buying books because yep, the whole “I work in a library thing” and the money, and the fact that I have tons of books I haven’t read yet. But as you say, there are much worse vices and much worse things to spend our money on. I like treating myself with new books sometimes. 🙂 I hadn’t bought any for at least a year, but Book Outlet had a huge sale last week and I went crazy so I’m working on getting some hauls up soon. I also cull too. I generally donate a book when I’m done with it, unless it was a favorite, in which case I keep it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

