Readerly Rambles: 4/9/2017

shute

What I Read: Not really a damn thing. I’m in my last few weeks of my first semester of graduate school and assignments are due. I had my first literature review to turn in and I decided to swear off reading until the weekend. On Saturday I joined in the 1st pre-Readathon hosted on GoodReads by the Dewey’s 24-hour Readathon crowd. I listened to a good chunk of The Sympathizer on audio and I read caught up on my New Yorker issues.

What’s up Next: I’m starting The Enchanted April tonight before bed. There’s another readathon going on starting tomorrow at the Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon GoodReads group. This time the goal is to read 24 hours over the course of a week. I don’t know if I’ll make that goal, but I’m certainly going to try. My goal is to at least finish The Enchanted April and one other book.

New in the Stacks: I popped into Half-Price Books this weekend on a whim. I left with two very nice Austen novels and a copy of A Town Like Alice by Nevil Shute. I’ve never read any Shute, but I tend to like books that Thomas at Hogglestock reads and he always talks about Nevil Shute.

Planning: I have a swirl of bookish plans this month! Sam and I have a date on April 22nd to celebrate my birthday a week early. I know it will involve a cat cafe, some book store visits, and doughnuts. Sam loves me so he is indulging me in a bookstore crawl. In addition to birthday plans, I’m also working on Readathon plans. I’m drawing up a list of graphic novels to interlibrary loan and I’m working on an Instagram challenge. It should be fun.

What’s on your TBR for this week?

3 thoughts on “Readerly Rambles: 4/9/2017

  1. Lisa says:

    I’m also a big fan of Nevil Shute. A Town Like Alice was the first one I read and it’s still my favorite.

    I think every birthday should include a bookstore crawl, or at least a visit to one bookstore.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lindsey Stefan says:

    I keep re-writing my Readathon list too. I like to plan ahead, but it might be a bit early yet!

    I love the bookstore crawl birthday idea. I might have to see if I can swing something similar for my birthday in a few weeks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

