24 Hour Readathon Instagram Challenge

IGchallenge

Who: I’ll be hosting this IG challenge from my Instagram account.

What: See the readathon themed pictures in the image above. Not gonna lie, it seems real self-explanatory. You can interpret the prompts HOWEVER YOU CHOOSE. For example, “Room” could be a pic of Emma Donoghue’s book of the same title, or the room you’re reading in, or your dog hogging all the room on the couch, or your coffee with room for cream, or an audio book of Room with a View, etc…. Have fun with it!

When: During Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon on Saturday, April 29th. You have from the start of Readathon to the bitter end to complete this challenge. Earlier and later photos will not count because (duh) then it wouldn’t be a readathon challenge.

Where: On Instagram. And, yes, this is an IG only challenge. #sorrynotsorry

How: There is a theme for each hour of the Readathon. Your mission is to snap a picture for Instagram and tag it with #IGReadathon and #FigThistleBooks. I’ll be honest, I’m not really going to check time stamps to make sure you are taking the correct picture at the correct time. Think of it more as “guidelines” and have fun. Each IG account is limited to 24 pictures each for the contest. And if you spam me I will hunt you down and personally dog-ear all of your books… even the ones from the library. 

Winning: At the end of readathon, and after I have rested my weary eyes, I will compile a list of the eligible photos and use a random number generator to pick a winner. I’ll share the winning photo on my IG and tag you in it. You’ll have 24 hours to DM me your address and which book you want from Book Depository ($15 value or less).

Fine Print: If you spam me, or act like a weirdo and cheat for a cheap book, or are generally annoying or grumpy, then I am within my rights to pick a different winner.

 

 

15 thoughts on “24 Hour Readathon Instagram Challenge

  1. Amanda says:

    This is the very best challenge I’ve seen for Readathon in years. I’m not sure I’ll do every hour – or maybe I’ll take pics every hour and then post in multiples? Dunno. I always find it difficult to do more than 1-2 posts per day. But hey, it’s readathon, maybe I’ll just go for it! 😀 I worry too much anyway. Trying to get better about that. Love you Amanda!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jmillwanders says:

      I’m with you on this! I wonder if a collage of four pictures would count as one or four entries? Probably one, but I’d do it more for the fun aspect anyway so it doesn’t really matter. Either way, I’m excited for this one!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Isi says:

    This is so fun!! Thanks for this awesome challenge! I’m probably be sleeping during some hours, but I’ll post as much as I can. Oh My God, I can’t wait until Saturday!!

    Like

  3. Jen says:

    I’m going to try my best to remember to participate in this, as it sounds really fun. 🙂

    Can I post the Challenge picture on my Instagram so as to help me (and others?) remember?

    Like

  4. academy252 says:

    First of all… this is my favorite Readathon challenge ever and I have done this for a lot of years now. Secondly, I am aware that posting early won’t count for the prizes but are you cool with me posting some early since I won’t be doing the whole “all nighter” thing? I have someplace to be early on Sundays so I will be getting sleep. LOL I so totally do not want to miss one photo!

    Like

Leave a Reply

