Readerly Rambles: 5/7/2017

4What I Read: Last week we had a fair amount of rain. I took some time after work and before kid pick-up to drink a large coffee, listen to the rain, and inhale Rose Tremain’s The Gustav Sonata. It was beautiful with richly drawn characters and quite bleak. I seem to be hitting on books this year with the theme of Adults are Often Not Much More Mature Than Children and Eff Up on the Regular. A proper review is still percolating.

What I’m Reading: I’ve been hankering for a large, but not too large, Victorian re-read. I haven’t spent time with Charles Dickens in a bit and I decided it was time to revisit Great Expectations.

What’s up Next: My first summer course begins on Thursday and I know it will slow my reading down. Dang. If I am able to pick up another book towards the end of the week, then it will probably be Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell. This novel is a favorite and it will be another re-read. I find that the mood to re-read hits me in the spring and summer months. We’ll see how quickly I’m able to read through that chunkster!

Happy Reading!

 

Leave a Reply

