April Book Haul

I realized today that it is mid-May I haven’t discussed my April book haul! April is my birthday month and I was properly spoiled this year.

whereas

I had three book subscription arrivals: Family Lexicon by Natalia Ginzburg from NYRB, Killers of the Flower Moon by David Grann from Book of the Month club, and Whereas by Layli Long Soldier from Avid Bookshop.

AVID

Sam and I had a big date day to celebrate my birthday and, of course, that entailed book shopping. We bought several gifts and cards from Avid Bookshop and I picked up Before the Feast by Saša Stanišić and A Bestiary by Lily Hoang. I also traded in some books at 2nd and Charles and purchased Just and Ordinary Day by Shirley Jackson, Dept. of Speculation by Jenny Offill, and When God was a Rabbit by Sarah Winman. No date is complete without a thrifting expedition and at American Thrift I struck gold. I purchased The Optimist’s Daughter by Eudora Welty, The Red Queen by Margaret Drabble, The Distant Hours by Kate Morton, Longbourn by Jo Baker, The Death of the Heart by Elizabeth Bowen, Innocent Traitor by Alison Weir, A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry, and Swamplandia! by Karen Russell.

americanthrift

With some birthday gift cards I purchased A Gentle Madness by Nicholas Basbanes, The Icarus Girl by Helen Oyeyemi, Great Expectations by Charles Dickens, and The Complete Stories of Leonora Carrington

haul

My only whim purchases included a stop at Half Price Books where I picked up Northanger Abbey and Mansfield Park by Jane Austen and A Town Like Alice by Nevil Shute and a fortuitous Goodwill visit. At the Goodwill I nabbed Regeneration and The Eye in the Door by Pat Barker, The Hours by Michael Cunningham (NOT a film cover!), and The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao  by Junot Diaz. Persy Jane claims the Diaz is her “favorite book.”

fam2.png

Books are joyful things indeed! May will be a much more subdued book month. Less flinging money around and more reading from my shelves. Although I think at least one or two books will creep into my stacks!

 

One thought on “April Book Haul

  1. Amanda says:

    I miss bookstores and that feeling of being able to get a couple books here and there. We just have used book sections of thrift stores here. Not usually good for selection. Ah well.

    Glad to hear you were properly spoiled! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

