My Personal Canon

stack

“Stack of Old Books” by Austin Kirk is licensed under CC BY 2.0

Jillian recently created a list of books that have impacted her life and indicated that she would love to see a similar list from other bloggers. Here is my list:

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath / Ariel by Sylvia Plath / The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath

Bluets by Maggie Nelson

Germinal by Emile Zola

Memoirs of a Dutiful Daughter by Simone de Beauvoir

I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith

Jane Eyre by Jane Brontë

The Waves by Virginia Woolf

The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

I think I’d like to write about each of these books individually to really capture what they mean to me and how they’ve shaped me.

I tell you what, let me know in the comments (or via Tweet or email) which book you’d like for me to talk about first. I’ll add it into the blog rotation and write a bit more deeply about each book. I also may think of a few others in the interim.

 

 

5 thoughts on “My Personal Canon

  1. Jillian says:

    This is lovely, Amanda! Thanks so much for participating. I’d LOVE your thoughts on Ariel, Plath’s Journals (I love Plath and have her journals on my TBR, so I’d love your thoughts), and Memoir of a Dutiful Daughter (because I’ve never heard of it and am curious!) 🙂 xx

    Like

  2. o says:

    So happy to see Germinal there!

    Given the present state of affairs I’d love to read your thoughts on The Handmaid’s Tale 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

