I’m a Restless Reader

Twenty Books for SummerThe kids are out of school for the summer and my husband is staying home with them while I work. I’m working and doing the graduate school thing, but I find that my schedule is much more relaxed. I don’t have to go into work so stinking early and that means staying up slightly later at night and reading. I’m wrapping up Great Expectations tonight or tomorrow. Up next I have an interlibrary loaned copy of Emma Donoghue’s The Wonder and an e-book about introverts.

But what’s up after that? 

My chief problem is that EVERYTHING looks divine. I want to read so many books right now from my own stacks, the library, and there are some newer books I’m eyeing as well. Whenever I’m overwhelmed with reading choices I tend to shut down.

I think I’ve determined that the best course of action would be to make a TBR list for the summer. I remember a few years ago that some dear blogger had a Twenty Books of Summer challenge (let me know if you remember who it was! I’m drawing a blank). EDIT: CATHY OF 746 BOOKS IS THE ORIGINAL 20 BOOKS OF SUMMER GAL! My goal for this week is to draw up my own list of 20 books to read between June 1st and September 1st. The list will contain 10 from my stacks at home and 10 from the library or new purchases.

Friends, throw your recommendations at me. I’m wanting something slightly dark and slim. Shades of Shirley Jackson or Helen Oyeymei. Some classics. I need new to me authors. Perhaps a reread or two. Fling your book recommendations at me with wild abandon. I’m going to do some online book drooling, stare at my stacks, and wander the library. Let’s see what I can dredge up with your help.

4 thoughts on “I’m a Restless Reader

  1. Felicity says:

    Helen Oyeyemi is just devine ❤ Have you read What is Not Yours is Not Yours – it's a fantastic collection of dark, dreamy short stories. For dark and slim, I would recommend China Miéville's This Census Taker, which I've just read, and Geek Love (Katherine Dunn) and Swamplandia! (Karen Russell) are also wonderful but novel-length – both about very different carnival families, and dark and surreal in their own ways. The Wonder is fantastic 🙂

    I know what you mean about too many books!! Sometimes too many choices is harder than no choices! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 4thhouseontheleft says:

    My top ten Tuesday post has a bunch of summer rec’s! When Dimple Met Rishi, The Maisie Dobbs series, and The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood are a few on the list. I definitely know what you mean about too many books!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

