20 Books for Summer List

Twenty Books for Summer

Nosed around my stacks, haunted GoodReads, and browsed at the library and finally made up my Summer of 2017 TBR.

The Brontës Went to Woolworths by Rachel Ferguson

The Observations by Jane Harris

Let Me Tell You by Shirley Jackson

Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

The Bookman’s Tale by Charlie Lovett

The Distant Hours by Kate Morton

The Unicorn by Iris Murdoch

Boy, Snow, Bird by Helen Oyeyemi

The Prestige by Christopher Priest

Crampton Hodnet by Barbara Pym

My Cousin Rachel by Daphne du Maurier

Hunger by Roxane Gay

Strangers on a Train by Patricia Highsmith

The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

The Mothers by Brit Bennett

The Pure Gold Baby by Margaret Drabble

The Dark Circle by Linda Grant

The Solitary House by Lynn Shepherd

Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien

5 thoughts on “20 Books for Summer List

  1. Jen says:

    Of these, the only one that I’ve read is Burial Rites by Hannah Kent. It was sooo good. I hope you enjoy it! Happy Reading!

    Like

  2. o says:

    I’m doing this too 🙂 Good luck with your list, and I’ll look forward to see what you think of The Unicorn – I’ve not read it but I’ve enjoyed a few Iris Murdochs in my time 🙂

    Like

  3. TJ @ MyBookStrings says:

    I’ve read a few books on your list, and I enjoyed them all. After the forceful and completely varying commentary The Mothers received during the Tournament of Books, I was a bit reluctant to pick it up, but I thought it was a great book that dealt very even-handedly with several very emotional subjects. If you enjoy audiobooks, then this is one to consider listening to.

    Like

  4. grazona says:

    This is a great idea. I love making lists, especially reading related ones! I’d like to give it a try but I’m not sure I could stick with it, I’m easily distracted by new releases and recommendations!

    Like

Leave a Reply

