Readerly Rambles: 7/3/2017

mugparty

Ummmm… I need this mug.

What I read: Whelp. I read one book in June and it was a pretty good one. Shirley Jackson’s posthumously published collection Let Me Tell You. Was a solid 4 out of 5 stars. The book is made up of unpublished short stories, sketches, and non-fiction essays. I enjoyed the stories and many of the non-fiction pieces, but these writings definitely lacked a sense of completeness and Jackson’s word wizardry. It was interesting to enter into her imagination and think about how the final drafts would have looked. Don’t get me wrong, everything is engaging and well-written, but Jackson typically dazzles and knocks me on my tush and this collection lacked that final bit of polish.

What I’m reading: I’m nearly done with my re-read of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. Each time I re-read a Potter book, I like Dumbledore less and less. I’m also several hundred pages into Nicholas Basbanes’ door stopper A Gentle Madness: Bibliophiles, Bibliomanes, and the Eternal Passion for Books. I’m reading this text for my rare book librarianship class. I’m learning so much about the history of book collecting and it is fascinating. I have thoughts on the book that I’m reserving for my end of class paper and a book review for this blog.

What’s Up Next: I was supposed to read My Cousin Rachel in June along with some other bloggers, but course work had me knackered. That’s number one on my list. I’m going to have a chunk of reading time next week and I hope to knock it out then.

Happy Reading!

And happy 4th of July… remember… #RESIST

2 thoughts on “Readerly Rambles: 7/3/2017

  1. Jen says:

    “Each time I re-read a Potter book, I like Dumbledore less and less.” What?! Why? I read all but the last one over 10 years ago, and then all including the last one – finally – in late 2015. So I’m not a frequent re-reader, but still. . What is it about Dumbledore that you aren’t liking?

    Also, I bought that mug. Saw it on your post and clicked the link. Figured. . .I have the money, so why not? So, soon it will be mine!!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

