A Whirlwind

Saturday night and I feel like this is the first chance I’ve had to catch my breath since I arrived home from book nerd summer camp on Sunday. It hasn’t even been a week since the end of book nerd camp, but it feels like it ended ages ago. I arrived home on Sunday and reconnected with my family. On Monday I took the day off work to catch up on the homework and projects I missed over the long weekend. Tuesday and Wednesday were very busy at work with no less than three meetings and piles of catch-up. Thursday I went to Oglethorpe University in Atlanta for a Georgia Library Association meeting and then met-up with Sam and the kids at Zoo Atlanta. We arrived home – hot and sweaty – to a home with no functioning air conditioning. Thursday night I did more homework and then tossed and turned all night. On Friday I traveled to UGA in Athens for a Research and Assessment interest group meeting and then back to the sweaty house. Today was grocery shopping, finally getting the air conditioner repaired, and then a solid four-hour chunk of coursework.

So, yeah, this is the first chance I’ve had to catch my breath and fill you all in on book nerd summer camp.

I did a very long book haul video on Fig and Thistle Books on Facebook, but I haven’t had a chance to write about the experience. In short, it was fan-fucking-tastic. I finished one and a half books. Not nearly as much as I had hoped, but I don’t even care. I slept like a log. I spent long stretches of time staring at nature. I drank gallons of great coffee. I bought books and ate delicious food. Wonderful things, but not the best part. The best part was the amazing conversations I had with my friends.

We talked about families, careers, goals, and silly things. Our last evening at the cabin we went around the room and shared the book that has most impacted our life. We talked about gender, feminism, sexuality, religion, and pop culture. What a deeply enriching and rewarding experience.

We’re doing it again next year. July 2018 we’ll be going to Asheville, NC. I’ve thought about making this event big and inviting more book bloggers and I’ve had several readers express interest. But, I’m hesitant to make this “a thing.” While I knew some people better than others at this book nerd summer camp, I still felt like I knew them all to some degree and the group was small. I hesitate to open the event up to something larger because I want to take those three or four days and talk to friends and read; I don’t want to manage a camp. I’m thinking next year I will send out invites to folks I know best and keep the group small (no more than 10 folks including myself). However, I will share what week we’ll be in Asheville in case some of you other book nerds would like to organize a trip with your bookish friends at the same time and we can all meet up for dinner or coffee.

Another perk of book nerd summer camp is it really revitalized my reading, writing, and blogging mojo. It may not look like that now – thank you last week of the semester – but I have plans for August and I’m trying to squeeze in some pockets of time to catch my breath, read, think, and write.

 

3 thoughts on “A Whirlwind

  1. lostinliterature108 says:

    I totally agree that if you opened that thing up to lots of reader folks you would lose all the intimacy and purpose of connecting with your friends. You should totally keep it small. But if I’m in the Ashville neighborhood during book nerd camp, I’m definitely looking y’all up to meet you.:) Glad y’all had a great time.

    Like

  2. Chris Wolak says:

    Book Nerd summer camp sounds like heaven! Keeping it small seems the way to go for sure. Nothing beats a book getaway with a small group of reading friends. And hallelujah for AC! Our two window units have been humming away for days. Summer is my least favorite season. I’m a slug. Enjoy the freedom of August!

    Like

  3. Amanda says:

    I’m still so bummed I had to miss this year. Hopefully next year I’ll be in a much better financial place and can get there with y’all. And I agree with you – this is YOUR thing. Invite the people you know. Don’t manage a camp. I’ve done groups before that were closed and open, and the ones that were closed were good for some kinds of things and the ones that were open were better for others. This definitely sounds like a better closed thing.

    Now I need to look up the next location. I wonder how close it will be to the part of NC that I used to go to as a kid with my family!

    Like

Leave a Reply

